My List

What do I like about you?
Such a silly thing to ask
But if you must really know
I’ll take on this crucial task

I love the way your lips part
Before you begin to smile
The way that you twist your hair
To get that “effortless” style

I could wrestle you all day
And let you tell me I’m “strong”
When I’m cradled to your chest,
Believing that nothings wrong

I adore the look you have
For saving the universe
Did I mention to you yet,
You accept me at my worst

You are incredibly smart
I admire all you can teach
You see my full potential
And nothing seems out of reach

The longer that this list grows
I’m begged to ask the question
Could you make a list for me
And see past my transgressions?

But this isn’t about me
I want to express your worth
Our connection goes deeper…
Before this life, beyond earth

You say you aren’t jealous
But there’s a possessive streak
I think it’s really cute though
And you’re not a control freak

Let me be more personal
And a little more verbose
I love the way you touch me
I crave to be pulled in close

A breathless intensity
When I stare into your eyes
How our lips greet in a kiss
Followed by our lustful sighs

Our interwoven fingers
Are also on my list
Can’t you see that I love you
Or do you not get the gist?

I carefully chose these words
Hopefully I touch your heart
What do I like about you?
Literally every part.

Leave a comment